Strong is the New Beautiful

I’ve found a great book worth reviewing after a long drought of reviews.

Get Lindsey Vonn’s new book Strong is the New Beautiful. The gold-medalist U.S. Olympic skier lists exercises you can do to get strong.

Yet who knows–maybe you’re not a fan of Lindsey Vonn or you don’t like her hair or something like that–you don’t have to take her word for it.

Take my word: for over five-and-a-half years long before Vonn detailed these exercises I’ve been doing them on my own at the gym. Vonn listed these exercises in 2016 and I’ve been doing them since 2011.

It might be unusual–yet I like going to the gym. Vonn believes most people resist exercising. No–I enjoy exercising at the gym.

Lindsey Vonn recommends strength training 2 days per week. You got that right: only 2 days with cardio mixed in. For the last year I’ve trained 2 days a week and 3 days a week on other weeks.

Working out consistently for 2 or 3 days a week even when you experience a setback and haven’t done exercise for a week or two here or there is the secret to success.

It’s true you don’t have to work out 4 or 5 days every week for an hour at a time.

If I did that I’d have no energy left over to have a social life or even to cook dinner or make the bed in the morning.

Lindsey Vonn quotes these statistics which are the prime reason for going out and buying her beautiful book:

“The more muscle mass you have, the less likely you are to die early from any cause,” according to research.

“A recent study found that shopping for fresh food is 24 percent cheaper per calorie than subsisting on processed stuff.”

Lindsey Vonn also gives recipes for tasty, healthful, easy-to-prepare meals.

It’s true: Strong is the New Beautiful.

Leave a comment